Berry Bits · Movies

Berry Bits: Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children

Welcome to Berry Bits, where I talk about something I just finished such as a video game, book, anime.

peregrines-filmheader-nowplaying-desktop-front-main-stage

Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children

Directed by Tim Burton

Type: Movie | Genre: Dark Fantasy, Adventure

From visionary director Tim Burton, and based upon the best-selling novel, comes an unforgettable motion picture experience. When Jake discovers clues to a mystery that spans alternate realities and times, he uncovers a secret refuge known as Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children. As he learns about the residents and their unusual abilities, Jake realizes that safety is an illusion, and danger lurks in the form of powerful, hidden enemies. Jake must figure out who is real, who can be trusted, and who he really is.

(Description from http://www.foxmovies.com/movies/miss-peregrines-home-for-peculiar-children)

132_by_gasara-d752q69

DISCLAIMER: THIS MOVIE WAS BASED ON THE BOOKS, WHICH I HAVE NOT READ.

I saw the film this past Thursday, while out of town with friends. It was a spur of the moment, as I wanted to see them while I was in the area.

Honestly, I’m awful when it comes to movies. I never have the attention span for them. Most of the time I’d prefer to “multi-task” with it playing in the background.

Luckily, this was a Tim Burton film, and I generally love his work. This was no exception. Despite the source of movie, one could tell that this was directed by him. The designs are his style, the dialogue is his style, the over-all aesthetic, and so-on.

Unlike those who have read and loved the books, I came into the movie theater with no expectations of what it would like. So my positive impression will have no impact on the readers of the source material.

I enjoyed the humor and the characters the most. Miss Peregrine has a memorable design, especially her hair. The girls had adorable dresses and the twins seemed intriguing – as in “what do they REALLY look like?”

The only thing I felt was missing were some sort of backstory to the “children” that appeared. More of their personalities, instead of the love interest. The romance seemed kind of iffy as well. Not cringe-worthy, just off.

Regardless of my nitpicks, I enjoyed myself and should try to watch more movies that interest me instead of putting it off!

miss-ps-home

Save

Save

Leave a Reply

