Geekery · Musings · Real Remarks

3 Fictional Characters I Identify With The Most

3-fictional-characters

A couple of weeks ago there was a hashtag going around Twitter and Instagram. While it varied slightly among participants, the concept was the same: choose three fictional characters you think best represent you.

While this normally would be a problem for me, I already had two in mind. The third one was more difficult, but with a help from a friend, I was able to figure it out.

I wanted to take this opportunity and go in more detail about why I chose these particular characters. Even people that know me don’t know who they are. And if they do, they might not be able to make a

Sansa Stark

sansaheader

A Song of Ice and Fire book | HBO’s Game of Thrones

To most this may seem like an obscure connection. Instead of just focusing on her personality, let’s focus on her history.

How does she begin the series, and where does she stand now?

She’s not the same, is she? Once innocent and naïve, now hardened, even cold.

I’ll be blunt: a lot of things happen to her. A lot of terrible, awful things.

Now she’s less trusting. Less compassionate.

Going through negative things can change you. It changed her. It made her stronger.

Just like me.

Madoka Kaname

madokaheader

Puella Magi Madoka Magica

Much like Sansa, Madoka starts the series very naïve about everything.

When I first watched the show, I remember her low self-confidence the most.  How she felt useless unless she was able to help others. Her quotes sound much like me.

“I can change it? Even someone like me can do something to help? Can I really change how this ends?”

Well…there’s nothing special about me… I’ve never been good at school and I’ve never had any talents… I’m scared that this is the way my life’s gonna stay. Always asking for help and not being able to help when people need it…”

The words in bold are similar to things she says often, and things I feel often. We share the same insecurities.

Blanc

blancheader

Hyperdimension Neptunia

Upon first glance, Blanc seems entirely quiet, reserved, and introverted. She has my hobby of reading and writing stories as well.

However, she snaps easily. When angered, she gets violent and swears.

Likely due to my medicine, many don’t realize that I can get the same way. While I’m glad for that, I have acted like Blanc many times when I’m full of rage.

In the artbook for the original Hyperdimension Neptunia game on the Playstation 3 there is a single word used to describe Blanc’s personality: Bipolar.

That word should be familiar by now.

132_by_gasara-d752q69

Any of you have characters you relate with often? Sometimes seeing such connections can make us not feel alone. Sometimes what the characters do may give us ideas of how to deal with certain things.

Thanks for reading!

 

 

5 thoughts on “3 Fictional Characters I Identify With The Most

  1. I love how you can find characters who you connect with because they have bits and pieces of you. I think there’s a little bit of Sansa in all of us. We all go through things and come out a little jaded and guarded but it’s kinda for the best. We have to be strong so we don’t get hurt again. I can totally see why you dig her!

    Danielle | http://www.FollowMyGut.com

    Like

    1. Well, I suppose I could have been more specific about relating to Sansa due to use both being used by men without our consent and coming out a little more cynical about life. 😀

      Like

  2. I really need to write a whole post about this. I did the Twitter thing and I decided that three characters from Scott Pilgrim make me up perfectly.

    Like

      1. Scott himself, Wallace and Stephen Stills. If you ever get a chance, definitely read the manga. Since Bryan Lee O’Malley wrote the script for the movie, I won’t say one is better than the other, but it’s worth it to read them.

        Like

Leave a Reply

