Berry Bits · Books

Berry Bits: If You Could Be Mine

Welcome to Berry Bits, where I talk about something I just finished such as a video game, book, anime.

If You Could Be Mine

by Sarah Farizan

Type: Book | Genre: Contemporary, LGBT, Romance | Books: 1

Seventeen-year-old Sahar has been in love with her best friend, Nasrin, since they were six. They’ve shared stolen kisses and romantic promises. But Iran is a dangerous place for two girls in love—Sahar and Nasrin could be beaten, imprisoned, even executed if their relationship came to light.

So they carry on in secret—until Nasrin’s parents announce that they’ve arranged for her marriage. Nasrin tries to persuade Sahar that they can go on as they have been, only now with new comforts provided by the decent, well-to-do doctor Nasrin will marry. But Sahar dreams of loving Nasrin exclusively—and openly.

Then Sahar discovers what seems like the perfect solution. In Iran, homosexuality may be a crime, but to be a man trapped in a woman’s body is seen as nature’s mistake, and sex reassignment is legal and accessible. As a man, Sahar could be the one to marry Nasrin. Sahar will never be able to love the one she wants, in the body she wants to be loved in, without risking her life. Is saving her love worth sacrificing her true self?

(Description from https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/17302571-if-you-could-be-mine)

132_by_gasara-d752q69

I don’t normally read contemporary books – unless they tackle a theme or subject I happen to like.

I do place media featuring girl x girl romances in my queue immediately as I do not think there is enough of them. This was one of them.

As this book takes place in Iran, it was exciting to learn more about the country, how different everything is from the States. It made me a appreciate where I live a little bit more than I have been.

While I liked the protagonist, Sahar, I couldn’t understand her eagerness to change her entire being for Nasrin. That’s a lot to sacrifice for one person and at such a young age. Would I sacrifice so much for one person? Nah. Multiple people? It’ll probably be worth it then.

The ending was rather disappointing in a “that’s not what should happen” kind of way.

At least it was a light read to get my girl x girl romance fix.

Thanks for reading!

Save

2 thoughts on “Berry Bits: If You Could Be Mine

  1. I’ve been meaning to read this book. I read the other book Sara Farizan wrote, Tell Me Again How a Crush Should Feel, and it was so good I read it in one sitting. I rarely do that with any book (not even the A Song of Ice and Fire series!).

    Like

Leave a Reply

