Berry Bits · Games

Berry Bits: Pokemon Y

Welcome to Berry Bits, where I talk about something I just finished such as a video game, book, anime.

packaging-002

Pokemon Y

Type: Game | Genre: Turned-based RPG | Franchise: Pokemon

The Story

Your new Pokémon adventure promises to be exciting and challenging every step of the way! Be prepared to encounter many tough Pokémon and battle against tough Trainers to become the Champion!

The Kalos Region

Your adventure in Pokémon X and Pokémon Y takes place in the Kalos region, home to beautiful skies and forests! The Kalos region is full of interesting places to visit and explore!

(Description from http://www.pokemonxy.com/en-us/story/)

132_by_gasara-d752q69

As mentioned in this post, Pokemon was a favorite franchise of mine as a kid. As much as I enjoyed Pokemon, I never played any of the games. Possibly due to the fact they were usually on handhelds and I never was able to own one until I received a Gameboy Advance for a Christmas present.

If only for one game I was extremely disappointed in at the time: Final Fantasy Advance. I thought it was going to be a sequel to one of my favorite games of all time. I didn’t keep the handheld long enough to bother trying many other games. Besides, the money was needed.

Things like video game consoles, handhelds, and games never lasted long enough at my house anyway. I might not have even been the one to sell it. After all, my memory has not been functioning well since I had a “minor” concussion as a pre-teen.

Then there was that long time period where I resented Pokemon because of him.

So how did I feel when had been given the opportunity to play my first Pokemon game?

Weary, as usual, but also determined. To start off with, a shiny Vulpix was gifted to me, probably as an encouragement.

600px-037Vulpix
How could you not like this cute little fox?

I picked Chespin as my starter Pokemon because he was the cutest and gave him an embarrassing nickname: Penny. It didn’t fit as much when he evolved to his final form, but it stuck regardless.

At first I caught everything and gave them cheesy nicknames. Then… I started to forget about that aspect and focused on remember which Pokemon was which type and what NOT to send out to fight them. In fact, that was the hardest part in the game for me. I enjoyed everything else, though. The idea of customizing my heroine was awesome, because I could spend hours doing so.

My final team ended up being:

I’m kind of sad Flygon and Sylveon didn’t have nicknames, but ah wells. I might bring some of them with me into other Pokemon games because I’ll feel sad raising these guys and never using them again. Luckily, I learned it’s possible!

Right now, though, I have other 3DS games to beat. Such as Bravely Default. The current console game I’m currently playing on is Dragon Age: Inquisition.

Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

