Creative Corner · Writing

Always There

I see your face in the shower next to mine, grinning that stupid smile. That large head, like your ego, hovering close to my ear, whispering sweet lies. You take me regardless of my opinion or my struggling.

Strangers surround me, swarming like insects, buzzing. Yet you are there. An innocent man possessed by your presence, cursed to give me illusions that I am no longer safe. You revel in my fear.

At night I close my eyes, intent on refreshing my body and mind. Dreams invade my conscious, you riding along, tormenting me one more. I cannot escape. I cannot scream.

The day starts anew. The cycle continues. I live on, forever haunted.

Leave a Reply

