Musings · Real Remarks

Success in Independence

July was a busy month for me. For someone who spends many of her days at home, attempting to finish one of her many creative projects.

The major event was the IGMC, an event in only its second year of existence. A month-long contest for game developers to finish a game and submit it. Our team had many obstacles, but at last we finished. It’s a major accomplishment for the five of us.

Check it out here. Check on our team’s devblog here.

This month also marked the beginning of documenting the public transit systems around the state. The idea was thought up by my friend, also a member of the game development team.

I don’t drive. Nor do I think I’ll ever drive. If only because I might never be ready.

There is a myth that if you don’t drive, you can’t be independent. You will always have to rely on others to take you to the grocery store or to work.

This simply is not true.

My friend is a good example of this. She has a physical disability that prevents her from driving. Yet, she’s out on her own with a job and quite a social life. What helps her is public transit.

I’m not going to tell you to use it, or preach about it.

But let’s make one thing clear: it’s important that everyone gets a chance to be independent.

I’ve been told I couldn’t get a job because I don’t drive. I have had two jobs in the past, just by relying on family and friends to drive me there.

If I would have known about my hometown’s public transit system, I could have gotten around all by myself.

The point of our documentary is to raise awareness that transportation options exist for people who cannot drive.

It’s not just about doing responsibilities, it’s also about living a life of your own. Down here, most of my friends do not drive. It makes my partner a taxi cab driver for all of us. And as much as we like to joke, he does not enjoy this job.

Unfortunately, we live a few miles out of public transit’s reach.

We must continue awareness so that more people ride buses. Until public transit and other modes of transportation become more widespread, will continue to be dependent on others for rides.

2 thoughts on “Success in Independence

  1. I completely agree on that one! I just got my learners and I’m 31 years old. There are so many buses where I live that it was never a big deal to get from point A to point B. Really I just want a car now so I can explore more of British Columbia. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    1. I can’t believe I never replied! You live in a lucky place! I’m too scared and anxious to ever drive, though I do try to dictate what kind of car my boyfriend should buy. ๐Ÿ˜›

      Like

Leave a Reply

